Our Founding Members

Twin City Firefighters Association was founded January 27, 1986. Founding members were: James Brown, Michael Dotray, Terry Dyer, Augusta Edwards, Harold Gibson, Walter Jones & Ross Slacks.

Citing unfair treatment of African- American and female firefighters, these individuals decided to form the organization. They were faced with criticism and struggled with membership for the first 3 years of existence.

The first President to serve was Augusta Edwards 1986-1993 followed by Walter Jones 1993-2008

The members of Twin city Firefighters Association attended their first conference in Lafayette, LA. in 1987

Twin City Firefighters Association has hosted 2 Regional Conferences in Monroe, LA.  April 1995 & April 2005

Twin City Firefighters Association was responsible for implementing a Smoke Detector installation Program

After 23 years, Twin City Firefighters Association has over 50 members and is very involved in the community it serves.   We have adopted 2 elementary schools (Madison James Foster & Swayze) and have made contributions to area organizations like Grace Place Ministries and Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northeast Louisiana. We also have a Burned Out Victims Assistance Program.

 2009 Twin City Firefighters Association - Monroe, Louisiana | All rights reserved. | designed & maintained by Webvertise | Last updated on